ING Hartford Marathon Recap


Friday night I got everything ready and packed and got to bed around 10:00. I set my alarms for 3:30 and 3:45 and got up at 3:45 of course. Got dressed got my stuff and had a light breakfast and a big glass of water. Then My wife, eldest daughter, and I left for Hartford around 5:00 to get there around 6:00. I was afraid I was going to get caught up in traffic or not be able to find a parking place or something that was going to stress me out.

We got there around 6:00 as planned and found a free parking lot a block away from the starting corral  and next to a long line of porta-potties which was pretty sweet. Since the Pace Groups were not going to meet until 7:30 and it was in the high 40s, I decided to wait in the nice warm car for a while. After a couple of bio breaks I went to the Pace Group meetup. I didn’t bother to use the baggage check since it was about a half  block from where I parked which was nice since the lines were way long.

I found my pace group for a 4:45 finish and met some really nice people. I figured I wanted to run with some experienced marathoners, the pace group leaders, during my first one. I didn’t stretch but jogged in place to warm-up. I took a GU at 7:15 and 7:45. At about 7:45 we moved into the corral. It was hard to stay with my group but I was able to see the sign the leader was holding.

CAM00142

 

It was a beautiful day for a run. With the sun now up it was in the low 50s, low humidity, and a nice breeze. I think I probably got spoiled a bit but I’ll take it.

I was a little nervous but excited and confident at the same time. I hadn’t run for a week and a half trying to get my knees to feel better and this morning they felt great, but for how long, I wondered. After all, 26.2 miles is a long way. I got settled in as close to my group as possible. The opening ceremonies were great. I was surprised that when they asked everyone who was running their first marathon to raise their hands, it looked like half the people there did. At one point we all sang Sweet Caroline in honor of Boston. Once the race started, it only took about three minutes to get across the starting line since my group was pretty far up.

Once we got across the starting line and moving, it was very exciting. I was actually running in a marathon! The full and half marathoners were running together at first and then split up after a couple of miles. We ran through downtown Hartford, through a nice park and the into some nice neighborhoods. Water stops with both water and Gatorade were setup every mile and a half, GU Gels available at about mile 8 and 14 and race clocks at every odd mile.  I walked through every stop and took a GU at 8, 14, and 21 miles. At about mile 9, I took another bio break and lost track of my pace group. I wanted to try to catch them but I was afraid to run too fast at this point. I kept track of my pace using the pace band I picked up with my packet and was about a minute or so behind, a pace I was able to maintain.

My knees were a little sore for the first few miles but were fine after that. Somewhere around 11 miles in the bottom of my right foot was starting to get sore. After a couple more miles I thought maybe my shoelaces were too tight so I stopped to loosen them and immediately felt some relief. Everything else felt fine.

I hit the halfway point at 2:20:56 with a pace of 10:46. I still felt great and was on track to finish around 4:45. The volunteers, police, and residents cheering us on were great! I made mile 20 at 3:34:00 with a pace of 10:42. Still doing great. I was pretty tired but the gravity of what I was doing and thinking of every one of my followers and family kept me going. I now only had a short weekly run to go and knew I could do it. At about mile 22, the bottom of my left foot started hurting as well as my right. It felt like I was running on fire but it didn’t feel like I was injured. I think my pace slowed here though. A lot of people were walking or run/walking at this point but I just kept going except for the water stops.

The last couple of miles got me back into the city. I smiled and raised my hands in victory for every camera. Finally, I saw the finish line and had the biggest smile, thanking everyone for cheering my on. Then I heard my name as I approached the finish line, something I hadn’t expected. Hands raised up and a big smile, I crossed the finish line. 4:48:05, pace 11:00.

I’m now a Marathoner!

Walking now, I got my medal, a water bottle, a goody bag, and mylar blanket.

CAM00147 (2)

 

They had lots of good food available but sadly with my wheat allergy, I couldn’t eat most of it. I did get a complementary massage though and decided to get a nice steak on the way home.

This was one of my best days ever!

The day after the race my legs, hips, and shoulders were sore all day. I felt like I was walking like a penguin. I escaped pretty much injury free though with only a couple of blisters on the toes of my left foot. Monday, I did some foam rolling and everything is feeling much, much better.

20131012_150735

Categories: Races | Tags: , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “ING Hartford Marathon Recap

  1. Excellent! You look so happy in your photo; a job well done!

  2. Congratulations David! Welcome to the pantheon of marathoners, which despite the blogging world, is actually really small. Few people go out and train for something like this, so to do it just three minutes shy of your goal is amazing.

    I liked the moment where you stopped and said to yourself, I am running a marathon. I vividly remember the moment where I did the same thing — take in my surroundings, see every nearby runner and actually vocalize the fact that today was THE day I had been anticipating for so long.

    I was half expecting your knees to start complaining, but it looks like they were on their best behavior for the race. That’s such good news.

    So now the inevitable question is, penguin waddle notwithstanding, do you think you have another marathon in your future? Doesn’t have to be soon … just … someday?

    Well done, sir.

    • Thanks! Luckily my knees are still doing good. I’m pretty sure I will run another one. I don’t want to be a “former” marathoner just yet. Maybe I’ll try achieving a BQ. On the other hand the is a 50K in April I have my eye on too! 🙂

  3. 20sixpoint2

    Awesome job on your first Marathon! That’s a great time! What a huge and great accomplishment!

  4. That’s a nice looking medal. Way to push through!

  5. Congrats!! That is amazing. All that hard work and dedication really paid off!

  6. Training Paid off … bet you are itching for your next one now. Congrats again !

  7. Congratulations David, and well done you! Excellent finish time!

  8. Congratulations!! When’s the next one…muwhahaha.

  9. Good job! It sounds like the training paid off. I just finished my first yesterday in KC, and my legs are quite sore as well. Now that it is done, would you have done anything differently?

    • No, I don’t think so since I finished without having to walk and I wasn’t last. Now that I know better what to expect, I might change to an intermediate training plan and try to improve my time.

  10. As usual, I’m way behind the curve on commenting! Great job on the marathon! I loved your recap 🙂

What do you think about that?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Talayna Fortunato

Passionate CrossFitter preparing for the CrossFit games

Two Traveling Smiles

finding happiness in new adventures

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Runners and sports enthusiasts Unite !!

This is my site for all things running,challenges and my life journey.

A Non-Runner's Adventures In Running

I'm Probably Going To Die Trying, Seriously

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Run Lego, Run

The Running Adventures of a Legoman

The Road to Physical Fitness

Sweat. Smile. Learn. Live. Eat. Sleep. Repeat.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

nolongernakedrunning

Just another runner finding her way

Women's Ice Hockey Journal

Anything That Is Women's Hockey and Pro Boston Bruins

Slimdown With Sandee

Change through creativity and adventure!

utalapwrx

utalap's repository of random thoughts and works

j.lol

Single Mom Running

Fuel My Run

What to eat. What not to eat. And other things runners obsess about.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Run On Organic

Organic Nutrition + Organic Skin Care + Fitness

Things I like... and then run

Photography, my life, running, my cat and my rambling

Prompts and Influences

The Girl With The Red Hair

A Fast Paced Life

Running Commentary of a Dilettante's Life

The Odd Spot

Your Health. Your Way

grammagoesrunning

Old triathletes never die, they just transition....

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

16 Hour Guys

Mental Toughness, Psychology, Motivation, Fitness Hacks -- Doctors Recommend 8 Hours of Sleep, You have 16 hours to be a boss

On The Road Again ~ 2011

"Between every two pines is a doorway to a new world." — John Muir

runningwithnolimits

Be Inspired and Inspire Others

Miss. Once Upon A Marathon

Enjoy the run. Both in life and on the roads.

Find Your "Fit"

Fitness is a lifestyle made of day to day choices. So I'm taking it day by day, moment by moment. Join the movement towards MOVEment. (The blogger formerly known as TheCurvyRoadRunner)

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Just Another Running Chick

Must eat gluten-free. Wine is optional.

SIMPLE RUNNER

The life of an everyday average guy who likes to run and stay in shape

eatbreatherun

Eating, Running & Fighting Against Lung Cancer

It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

And a 10K and a 200 Mile Bike Ride and an Obstacle Race and Anything Else We Find!

stillness of heart

MUSINGS : CRITICISM : HISTORY : PASSION

Little Belgian Waffle

going all the places, running all the races, eating all the things

The Road to 26.2

A great WordPress.com site

