Surftown Half Marathon Recap


Today I ran my first half marathon, the Surftown Half Marathon and it was GREAT!

Yesterday afternoon I picked up my race packet which came with a very nice technical shirt, a bag and a bib. I got number 676. I could have picked it up this morning before the race but I was in the area and figured it would be one less thing to worry about.  Last night I got all my stuff together and ready to go. I set my alarm for 4:45 since I wanted to leave by 6:00 and get there about 6:45 and the roads were going to close at 7:00. Start time was 7:30 and it would give my time to warm up and stretch out. I didn’t get to bed until about 10:30, later than I wanted but figured it wouldn’t be a big deal. I woke up at 4:45 and before I got out of bed it all of a sudden was 5:20. Still plenty of time though. Luckily, I had everything ready to go. I got up, got ready and had some water and a breakfast bar. Walked the dog and got my daughter Melissa who is my support team. Out the door at 6:10 with plenty of time. at about 6:40 with 8 minutes to go I hit traffic. Bumper to bumper traffic. Great! I have 20 minutes until the roads close. So slow! The intersection where the street was going to close was three cars away and the light turned red. Then green and it is 7:00. Road Closed! Now what? So I go in the direction we were being redirected and my awesome daughter found a back way to the parking lot. Luckily, the roads were not closed and we made it at about 7:10 with a long line of cars behind us. I actually think we made it faster than if we would have stayed in the traffic, so it worked out. I was pretty nervous about making it at all though. I’m really glad I got my race packet the day before. There were people running to get theirs.

I jogged a bit to warm up and made it to the starting area in time for them to call the runners up. I found the 2:30 pacer and fell in behind him. My fastest half during training was 2:24. I had decided to not bring my phone since I wanted to see how I would do without it in a race. I also didn’t bring my water bottle.  The race started a little late I think. It might have been because of the traffic problems, which was nice of the race officials. I say I think because I didn’t bring a watch either.

Once the race started, I started to run but being in the back of the pack, I quickly realized I needed to walk. By the time I got to the starting line, about a minute had passed. As there were race clocks along the route, I knew I could take a minute off each one. I started off just running an easy pace not wanting to get caught up in the excitement and go out too fast too early.

The crowd started thinning out pretty quickly and I fell into a comfortable pace. At the 1 mile marker the race clock said 11:07 which I knew for me was about 10:07. I passed the 2:30 pacer a little after that. There were water stations about every 2 miles or so water and Gatorade was no problem. There was one station that had GU at about mile 7 which was OK since I bought 2 with me.

At about mile 3, I was still feeling really good so I decided to pick up the pace a bit. Before I hit mile 4, I was passing the 2:15 pacer but still feeling really good. My knees were great and my feet were too. I kept that pace and realized I was slowly passing more and more people. I felt really encouraged about that but resisted just taking off. I really had no idea how fast I was going since I didn’t have my phone or a watch. I did take time to walk through every water station which is something I read about and I feel it worked out well for me.  It was easy for me to catch up to where I was in the pack and I gave me time to drink a whole cup of water and Gatorade at each stop. I highly recommend this method.

At mile 5, the race clock said 50:12 which was 49:12 or so for me, a little under 10 min/mi, really good for me. I guess training exclusively on hills and then running on a basically flat course paid off.  This is when I took my first GU.

At the halfway point I was still feeling great and hit it at 1:03:54.

Halfway!

Halfway!

 

On to the second half!

On to the second half!

Great pictures by my support team, Melissa! The second half was a little more hilly. But they were not bad at all. It was a beautiful neighborhood with lots of shade. Good thing since I chose to wear my long sleeves. I was afraid 48 degrees and the ocean breeze would be too cold. It was pretty chilly but it warmed up. At about mile 8 I still had a lot left so I really picked up the pace. Nice long strides and passing more and more people. It felt really good and I was in a nice rhythm. I took my second GU at mile 9.

At about mile 10 there were 2 rather steep hills in a row but they were short. I just powered up them, passing a lot of people and hearing cheers of encouragement. Once it leveled out, I caught my breath for about a quarter mile and the resumed my previous pace which I was judging by effort. The last water station was at about 11.5 miles. I walked through it, got a drink of water and Gatorade, and the took off. I picked up the pace again and really felt like I was moving. I was getting tired running this pace but knew I only had a little over a mile left.

With the finish in sight, I really started to kick it! The cheers and the applause were great and very motivating during that last 400 yards. Crossing the finish line was the best feeling! YAHOO!

FINISHED MY FIRST HALF MARATHON!

FINISHED MY FIRST HALF MARATHON!

 

Personal Record!

Personal Record!

YEAH!

YEAH!

Nice Medal.

Nice Medal.

 

The is my first PR and it was also a personal best. I actually set three PBs on the run.

15 September 13 PB Half Marathon

15 September 13 Surftown Run 3 PBs

I really felt great after this race. Knees, feet, legs, all good. I guess a half marathon late into your full marathon training plan works out pretty good.

Surftown Half Marathon Finisher!

Surftown Half Marathon Finisher!

The medal is really nice and it is like a sun catcher or stained glass.

Surftown Half Marathon 2013 9

This was a good race with great volunteers. It was well organized and had plenty of water stations.

Next month, the Hartford Marathon!

Categories: Races | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Surftown Half Marathon Recap

  1. willbfit

    Wow! That is a terrific time! It’s great to hear you felt unstoppable during the race. I’m afraid my experience with my half today was just the opposite. I’ll recap tomorrow. I’ve been hobbling around all day. Lol!! SOOOO happy to a that big smile as you sport your fancy hardware! Woot-woot!!

  2. Great work, and great medal too!

  3. Wow, congratulations! 🙂

  4. Fit Journey 50

    Congratulations!! What a wonderful accomplishment!!

  5. Congratulations! Nicely run!

  6. Well done! I vividly remember my first half, almost every single minute of it, though I didn’t have the same power in the second half that you did. You were much more consistent than I was, and I certainly didn’t have the energy to speed up like you did.

    First half in the bag, many more to come I hope. A fitting milestone on the way to Hartford. Big kudos, David!

  7. 20sixpoint2

    Awesome Job! Its great you were able to keep up the pace and push forward through it. Always makes you feel good about yourself. Keep up the hard work and the marathon will be great!

  8. Yay! Yay! Congrats!!

  9. Congrats on a GREAT race!!!

  10. Congrats on your first half marathon! Sounds like it was a great experience 🙂

  11. So I’m a little late, but better late than never! Awesome job!(And I love the bright yellow shirt!)

What do you think about that?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Talayna Fortunato

Passionate CrossFitter preparing for the CrossFit games

Two Traveling Smiles

finding happiness in new adventures

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Runners and sports enthusiasts Unite !!

This is my site for all things running,challenges and my life journey.

A Non-Runner's Adventures In Running

I'm Probably Going To Die Trying, Seriously

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

Run Lego, Run

The Running Adventures of a Legoman

The Road to Physical Fitness

Sweat. Smile. Learn. Live. Eat. Sleep. Repeat.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

nolongernakedrunning

Just another runner finding her way

Women's Ice Hockey Journal

Anything That Is Women's Hockey and Pro Boston Bruins

Slimdown With Sandee

Change through creativity and adventure!

utalapwrx

utalap's repository of random thoughts and works

j.lol

Single Mom Running

Fuel My Run

What to eat. What not to eat. And other things runners obsess about.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Run On Organic

Organic Nutrition + Organic Skin Care + Fitness

Things I like... and then run

My life, my interests, my running efforts and my photography.

Prompts and Influences

The Girl With The Red Hair

A Fast Paced Life

Running Commentary of a Dilettante's Life

The Odd Spot

Your Health. Your Way

grammagoesrunning

Old triathletes never die, they just transition....

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

16 Hour Guys

Mental Toughness, Psychology, Motivation, Fitness Hacks -- Doctors Recommend 8 Hours of Sleep, You have 16 hours to be a boss

On The Road Again ~ 2011

"Between every two pines is a doorway to a new world." — John Muir

runningwithnolimits

Be Inspired and Inspire Others

Find Your "Fit"

Fitness is a lifestyle made of day to day choices. So I'm taking it day by day, moment by moment. Join the movement towards MOVEment. (The blogger formerly known as TheCurvyRoadRunner)

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Just Another Running Chick

Must eat gluten-free. Wine is optional.

SIMPLE RUNNER

The life of an everyday average guy who likes to run and stay in shape

eatbreatherun

Eating, Running & Fighting Against Lung Cancer

It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

And a 10K and a 200 Mile Bike Ride and an Obstacle Race and Anything Else We Find!

stillness of heart

MUSINGS : CRITICISM : HISTORY : PASSION

Little Belgian Waffle

going all the places, running all the races, eating all the things

The Road to 26.2

A great WordPress.com site

utalap

Living my ideas of adventure every chance I get

